Update May 31, 2017:  All the recordings are now available. Please register @ www.SAPHANACommunity.com to access the presentations. SAP HANA 2.0 SPS 01 is now generally available. This blog has been updated to reflect additional details regarding this release.

SAP HANA 2 is the next generation data management platform for digital transformation. Leveraging state-of-the-art database and data management technology, analytical intelligence capabilities and intuitive application development tools on a single, unified in-memory platform – SAP HANA 2 frees up valuable resources and human capital for new and innovative application development to meet your business’s strategic objectives.  SAP HANA 2 was introduced in November 2016 and I encourage you to learn more about it in my previous blog.

Today we are pleased to announce the release of SAP HANA 2.0 SPS 01. Continuous innovation is a key strategy of SAP HANA 2. SAP HANA 2.0 SPS 01 includes a mix of new and continuous innovations across the themes of database management, data management, analytical intelligence and application development.

Database Enhancements bring simplified management of tenants and the establishment of multi-tenant database containers (MDC) as the default installation, with the choice to operate as a single DB. Continuous data access on the secondary, support for system replication for all storage tiers and performance optimizations enhance HA/DR strategies increase system availability. Co-locating in-memory store and extended store (dynamic tiering) on the same host simplifies IT landscapes. New, native, dynamic data masking provides additional protection for sensitive and confidential data. Streamlined upgrades, expanded workload management and analysis, and more centralization of administration and monitoring further simplify operations.

Analytical Intelligence Enhancements include a new JSON document store to gain new insights by processing structured and semi-structured data within the same database. We continue to expand our focus on machine learning with additional machine learning algorithms and adding the ability to apply trained decision trees to streaming data. These machine learning enhancements are combined with powerful performance optimizations for scoring large data volumes for real-time model scoring. Enhanced sentiment analysis support for Arabic and Portuguese, the addition of spatial data types for search, and expanded graph support continue to drive forward the depth and breadth of insights you can achieve with SAP HANA.

Application Development and Tools Enhancements allow you to accelerate the development of new applications with intuitive interfaces tailored to the needs of each user with support for Fiori Launch Pad in SAP HANA Extended Application Services, Advanced (XSA). Additional troubleshooting and compliance features, a new central persistence object for Data Warehouse (DW) use cases, and expanded SQL/SQLScript simplify development and expand use cases.

Data Management Enhancements for data integration and federation bring you a broader view of the business. We’ve added data integration sources for Apache Impala – Cloudera, PostgreSQL, Apache Camel JDBC, a generic JDBC adapter, and an enhanced file adapter for real-time access. The SAP HANA Spark Controller brings new insights by combining live transactional data with big data in the cloud with transparent access to SAP Cloud Platform Big Data Services (formerly Altiscale). Finally, enhancements in Smart Data Access (SDA) simplifies the configuration and management of data federation including the addition of a linked database feature that eliminates the need to manually create virtual tables for SAP HANA to SAP HANA scenarios.

These are just a few highlights of the capabilities in this release. Please join the series of webinars highlighted below.  The SAP HANA Product Management team will provide more details on the new features and enhancements.

Mark your calendars and join the live expert sessions for SAP HANA 2.0 SPS 01 to learn more (download meeting invitations below).

Webinar recordings and presentation materials will be available in the SAP HANA iFG Community. Click HERE if you are already a member of the SAP HANA iFG Community. If not, please register @ www.SAPHANACommunity.com.

Date Session Title Presenter Start Time Duration
(in minutes)
Recordings
 April 12 What’s New – SAP HANA 2.0 SPS 01 Overview Lori Vanourek 7 a.m. PST
10 a.m. EST
4 p.m. CET
30 Listen to the Recording
 April 12 What’s New – SAP HANA Data Integration Aleksandra Aleksic, Karl Ruediger, Richard LeBlanc 8:30 a.m. PST
11:30 a.m. EST
5:30 p.m. CET
75 Listen to the Recording
 April 13 What’s New – SAP HANA Database Administration Lucas Kiesow, Jose Ramos 7 a.m. PST
10 a.m. EST
4 p.m. CET
60 Listen to the Recording
 April 18 What’s New – SAP HANA Native Application Development Tom Slee, Volker Saggau, Tae Suk Son, Lucas Kiesow, Rich Heilman, Thomas Jung 7 a.m. PST
10 a.m. EST
4 p.m. CET
60 Listen to the Recording
 April 19 What’s new – SAP HANA Interactive Education (SHINE) Content Kiruthika N. 6 a.m. PST
9 a.m. EST
3 p.m. CET
 60 Listen to the Recording
 April 19 What’s New – HANA Security Andrea Kristen 7 a.m. PST
10 a.m. EST
4 p.m. CET
30 Listen to the Recording
 April 19 What’s New – SAP HANA Dynamic Tiering Courtney Claussen, Rob Waywell,
Karl Ruediger
9 a.m. PST
Noon EST
6 p.m. CET
30  Listen to the Recording
 April 20 What’s New – SAP HANA View- and Data Modeling Jan Zwickel,
Christoph Morgen
7 a.m. PST
10 a.m. EST
4 p.m. CET
60 Listen to the Recording
 April 21 What’s New – Mission Critical Data Center Operations Stephanie Lewellen,
Ralf Czekalla,
Joerg Hoffmeister,
Jan Teichmann,
Paul Henter
8 a.m. PST
11 a.m. EST
5 p.m. CET
120 Listen to the Recording 
 April 28 What’s New – Advanced Analyst Anthony Waite, Markus Fath,
Ashok Swaminathan,
Jeff Wootton
8 a.m. PST
11 a.m. EST
5 p.m. CET
90 Listen to the Recording

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Average User Rating
Rating: 4.6/5 (18 votes cast)
What’s New in SAP HANA 2.0 SPS 01, 4.6 out of 5 based on 18 ratings

20330 Views